Zahid wants former Umno MPs to vacate seats – Nation

Zahid wants former Umno MPs to vacate seats - Nation

KUALA LUMPUR: The three Umno Members of Parliament who left the party recently should vacate their seats immediately, says Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (pic).

The party president said the trio did not win their seats on their own merit.

“They contested as Barisan Nasional and Umno candidates and did not win in their personal capacities.

“They should vacate the seats if they have any honour left and stand in the election as independent candidates,” he told a news conference after chairing the Umno supreme council meeting here Wednesday (July 4)

The three MPs who left the party are former Puteri Chief Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (Masjid Tanah), Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang) and Datuk Noor Azmi Ghazali (Bagan Serai).

According to the Article 48(6) of the Federal Constitution, an MP who resigns his seat is disqualified from contesting for the House for five years.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here