Polling booths in Balakong, Seri Setia open at 8am – Nation

Polling booths in Balakong, Seri Setia open at 8am - Nation

BALAKONG (Bernama): A total of 16 polling stations with 128 channels for the Balakong state by-election and 18 polling centres with 115 channels for the Seri Setia state seat were opened from 8am Saturday (Sept 8) to enable voters to exercise their rights.

In Balakong, 14 schools, a community hall and a recreation centre are being used as polling centres, while in Seri Setia, 14 schools, a polytechnic and three community halls are being used for the same purpose. All polling centres will be closed at 5.30pm today.

Balakong has 62,219 registered voters while there are 50,692 registered voters in Seri Setia.

On Tuesday, 28 out of the 31 early voters in Balakong, and 77 per cent of the 2,770 early voters in Seri Setia, cast their votes at three polling stations at the Seri Kembangan Police quarters, Ababil Multi-purpose Hall at the Royal Malaysian Air Force Base in Subang Jaya and the SMS Complex of the Royal Malaysia Police in Shah Alam.

The Election Commission (EC) has estimated a 70 percent voter turnout at both the by-elections and the results are expected to be announced at the earliest by 10pm tonight.

The vote counting process for the Balakong will be held at the Demense Main Hall, Hulu Langat District and Land Office in Bangi, while vote counting for Seri Setia will be at the Petaling Jaya City Council Civic Hall.

It is a straight fight in both by-elections. Pakatan Harapan candidate Wong Siew Ki is facing MCA candidate Tan Chee Teong in Balakong, while in Seri Setia, Halimey Abu Bakar from Pakatan is pitted against Dr Halimah Ali from PAS.

The two Selangoor state seats fell vacant following the deaths of incumbents Eddie Ng Tien Chee (Balakong) and Prof Dr Shaharuddin Badaruddin (Seri Setia).

Ng died in a road accident on July 20, while Shaharuddin died of colon cancer on Aug 2.

Ng from DAP won with a majority of 35,538 while Shaharuddin of PKR won with a majority of 19,372 votes in the 14th General Election. – Bernama



Visit original news source


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here