Anwar expresses shock over number of outstation PD voters – Nation

Anwar expresses shock over number of outstation PD voters - Nation

PORT DICKSON: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim expressed shock over the sheer amount of registered voters living outside of the Port Dickson parliamentary constituency and has urged them to return to cast their ballots on polling day (Oct 13).

“There are many outstation voters. I’m shocked after seeing the amount of voters living in Pasir Gudang, Johor, Singapore, Klang Valley, Senawang, Nilai and such, there is just too much of them.

“If they (registered voters) don’t return, then it will be a challenge (for us). So, please help them to find a way to return home,” he said to Pakatan Harapan’s election machinery during a ceramah at Lukut on Oct 11.

At the same time, Anwar thanked the Pakatan election machinery for their efforts during the campaigning period, but stressed that the team mustn’t slack off as the polling day draws closer.

“I want to thank our machinery but the most important thing here is preparations for voting day.

“Because, (some of them) are relaxed. Even polling and counting agents (PACA) came late to our meetings. Some even arrived at 9.30am. I know this,” he said.

As such, Anwar reiterated his calls for Pakatan’s election machinery to be fully prepared by the Oct 13 polls.

On Wednesday (Oct 10), PKR incumbent youth chief Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad said that Pakatan has identified a total of 4,936 outstation voters, with the largest number residing in Selangor (1,915), followed by Johor (762), Kuala Lumpur (566) and Melaka (589).

Furthermore there were another 11,070 registered voters living within Negri Sembilan but outside the Port Dickson parliamentary constituency.

Voter turnout for the previous by-elections in Balakong, Seri Setia and Sungai Kandis was the lowest in the past nine years, making up 43%, 44%, and 49.8% respectively

Port Dickson, which has about 75,770 registered voters, will see a seven-cornered fight between Pakatan, PAS and five other independent candidates on Oct 13.

Visit original news source


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here